View Full Version : Free USB drive
CrAsHnBuRnXp
02-18-2008, 06:27 AM
http://www.moreinterop.com/collaboration/
Im a bit skeptical because it doesnt use SSL. Looks legit though since its Microsoft and Novell.
Thoughts?
ShadowFold
02-18-2008, 06:30 AM
Wow I really want to fill that out but I doubt its legit.
CrAsHnBuRnXp
02-18-2008, 07:02 AM
Im trying to find an email addy that I can use to send that site into Microsoft for question. Dont know which one to use.
Finally, a way of making Linux and Windows work better together!
C'mon, it's definately not a legit site.
stordoff
02-18-2008, 04:46 PM
Could be legit, according to the WHOIS, it appears the domain was registered by Microsoft and is on the Microsoft nameservers (Correct me if I am wrong)
http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=moreinterop&tld=com
Ehstii
02-18-2008, 04:46 PM
well, i will soon find out if its legit guys.
i just filled it out and it said my braclet should be mailed to me within a few business days.
thegave
02-18-2008, 04:46 PM
It could be...
There's this chick who has it listed on her resume/portfolio:
http://www.rebeccarivera.com/Interactive.html
I've taken the plunge. Let y'all know.
ShadowFold
02-18-2008, 05:06 PM
Please let me know I recently lost my 4gb flash drive and I really need another one T.T
fitseries3
02-18-2008, 05:15 PM
i signed up... i'll let you guys know.
newtekie1
02-18-2008, 05:33 PM
Microsoft has done this in the past. The problem is that it is a "while supplies last" deal. So they have a very limitted supply of flash drive, but it is a great way to get a bunch of peoples information so they can spam the crap out of you.
fitseries3
02-18-2008, 05:34 PM
i gave them a throw away email address so im not worried.
tigger69
02-18-2008, 05:36 PM
I just filled it in.Wonder if we'll get a usb bracelet *hopes*
Nitro-Max
02-18-2008, 05:37 PM
(subject to availability) lol you wont get one.
Graogrim
02-18-2008, 06:06 PM
Microsoft has offered this kind of promotion in the past. It's probably legit, but since half the world probably knows about it already actually receiving a drive is not a certainty.
ShadowFold
02-18-2008, 06:11 PM
I just signed up :D I hope I get one!
CrAsHnBuRnXp
02-18-2008, 06:12 PM
Why dont sites that do giveaways like this not use an SSL?
stordoff
02-18-2008, 06:19 PM
Is there really a need to use SSL?
Graogrim
02-18-2008, 06:20 PM
Depends on what kind of information the site is requesting. If they just want a throwaway email address then it's no big deal. If it's your bank account information or social security number, then you don't want that data sent out plaintext.
stordoff
02-18-2008, 06:22 PM
It's only requesting name, address, email and a few general questions about your business. Pretty standard stuff
Thermopylae_480
02-18-2008, 06:25 PM
There is a spelling error.
newtekie1
02-18-2008, 06:31 PM
i gave them a throw away email address so im not worried.
But I'm sure you gave them a real Mailing Address, spam doesn't always come in the form of an e-mail.
Thermopylae_480
02-18-2008, 06:40 PM
care to elaborate?
virtualisation, should be spelled with a z.
CrAsHnBuRnXp
02-18-2008, 06:41 PM
I feel safer with my data being sent encrypted. :)
Water Drop
02-18-2008, 06:47 PM
Microsoft and Novell signed a deal a few years back where they said that they will work together on making Linux and Windows have more interoperability. Yes the sites is legit, but that doesn't mean you'll get a flash drive. They probably have very few of them, and only the early birds will get one.
lemonadesoda
02-18-2008, 06:53 PM
OMG Senior Moderator turns into spelling nazi! LOL. ;)
vBulletin® v3.7.0, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.