PDA

View Full Version : Scam on this forum


CY:G
04-25-2008, 04:58 PM
I just received a PM from Steven Johnson with the following...

Im pretty sure is a scammer trying to get some money from us, is this allowed here?

**EDIT: i see that he already got banned, thanks admins...

Hello CY:G

I am sending this message to a few dozen randomly selected forum members who posted at least once in one of the past five months.

I'm running a study to finish up my doctorate in Technology Management. The results will help researchers and people who run sites like this one better understand effective leadership of web message boards and other voluntary groups.

Overall, there's been a positive response to this request. We've collected several hundred responses from several dozen message boards -- we just need a few more survey responses.

With your help, I can finish up this project really soon and be ready to graduate this summer. :-) The survey takes about 10-15 minutes to complete. Please click here to fill it out: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?...1g_2fFbw_3d_3d

Thank you!

p.s. As a further "Thank You" for completing the survey, you will receive a $10 Amazon.com gift certificate via email.

Steven Johnson
University of Maryland
Steven_Johnson@rhsmith.umd.edu
http://www.wam.umd.edu/~stevenlj/

Nitro-Max
04-25-2008, 05:06 PM
Better ask wizzard.

Triprift
04-25-2008, 05:07 PM
Well hes banned now so id definitly say no.

3870x2
04-25-2008, 05:17 PM
hilarious....

kyle2020
04-25-2008, 05:19 PM
the lengths some desperate people will go to. very annoying :banghead:

mlee49
04-25-2008, 05:20 PM
Yeah I forwarded it to a mod. Smells like spam to me!

Nitro-Max
04-25-2008, 05:21 PM
the lengths some desperate people will go to. very annoying :banghead:

I dunno but ur avator makes me hungry for chicken :laugh:

a111087
04-25-2008, 05:22 PM
on other tech forum there was this vivanadams16 that sent same message to a few users:
day my dear.How are you doing over there.Hope fine in a short way, my name is Vivan From west africa.I am a young single girl,A girl that never married.I am a member of these dating site.i see your profile here and i think that you will martch my type.Pls write me back through this my mail contact at ( vivanadams16@yahoo.com ) so that i will give you full explanation of myself.Here Waiting to see your quick reply in my mailbox.thanks from,vivian
and then i responded to it just to see his/her responce, and here it is:
Deare,
I Thanks you A lot for your message which i got today from you.Sincerely i am more than glad hearing from you.Already i told you few things about me on my last message to you.But not withstanding,My name is vivan adams from Ivory coast in west Africa and presently i am residing in the refugee camp here in dakar as a result of the civil war going on in my country.I am only 23years old girl and was about 1.62mtrs and was about 45kg weight and have no child,havent married before.

but your age did not make any thing.all i am looking for is love,understanding,caring,and respecting.I am here in Dakar Senegal West Africa.But living here in a refugee camp just because of the death of my parents doing the war in my country,surely i have to tell you that i am interested in love,romance,marriage,serious relationship and anything that goes between men and women.But to tell the truth,I am much more in need of knowing you better at least.Because i have explained a bit about me to you .

I am a daughter to Dr adams. but anyhow i will get you informed fully the position i have in my life.I believe you will be surely kind with me.I will open up myself to you when you are kind to me.Already you have to know i am a loving someone and i hate when you are looking for other women.But i am assuring you to be kind with you.I love animals,sports,music,children,garden,flowers,neat place, thank you for your understanding with me.Here i have attach my pictures, Cheers for now my dearest one.
With-love Vivian
Here is "her" picture :laugh:
http://img.techpowerup.org/080425/22239.jpg

BE CAREFUL PEOPLE :shadedshu

GJSNeptune
04-25-2008, 05:22 PM
Hey! Why wasn't I selected!?

:o

panchoman
04-25-2008, 05:23 PM
its a scam.. report it. if the guy is already banned, then just delete the message.

Triprift
04-25-2008, 05:23 PM
Lol me too pity its 2 in the morning here.

a111087
04-25-2008, 05:24 PM
its a scam.. report it. if the guy is already banned, then just delete the message.

yeah, he got banned pretty quickly

mlee49
04-25-2008, 05:26 PM
Here is "her" picture :laugh:
http://img.techpowerup.org/080425/22239.jpg



Holy crap thats what people look like in refuge camps???
Edit: With internet access :laugh:

WOW!!!

kyle2020
04-25-2008, 05:27 PM
I dunno but ur avator makes me hungry for chicken :laugh:

lmfao (H) cant beat the colonel!

Nitro-Max
04-25-2008, 05:27 PM
Sad really she might be genuine but with a not so genuine cause.
the truth is she probably wants to escape her country and get full residence in another country through marriage and you would have to also foot the bill for this.

All the im the perfect partner stuff is probably a load of crap.

kyle2020
04-25-2008, 05:28 PM
on other tech forum there was this vivanadams16 that sent same message to a few users:

and then i responded to it just to see his/her responce, and here it is:

Here is "her" picture :laugh:
http://img.techpowerup.org/080425/22239.jpg

BE CAREFUL PEOPLE :shadedshu

lmfao, love the response, and nicely worded too haha. :toast:

a111087
04-25-2008, 05:33 PM
Holy crap thats what people look like in refuge camps???
Edit: With internet access :laugh:

WOW!!!

yeah, i thought the same thing :laugh:

Thermopylae_480
04-25-2008, 06:22 PM
Not all of Africa is a refugee camp. Western Africa is typically more politically stable when compared with some of the other African nations.

Polaris573
04-25-2008, 06:25 PM
There is a Steven Johnson at the University of Maryland conducting that research project. However, I have no idea whether or not that is legitimately him or a just a clever scammer.

GJSNeptune
04-25-2008, 06:31 PM
What exactly would the scam be though? The survey link looks legitimate, and the $10 Amazon gift certificate only requires you to give an email address.

Polaris573
04-25-2008, 06:33 PM
It's called phishing. Giving them your e-mail address is the fastest way to guarantee an e-mail inbox full of spam.

DaedalusHelios
04-25-2008, 06:35 PM
What exactly would the scam be though? The survey link looks legitimate, and the $10 Amazon gift certificate only requires you to give an email address.

I need you email address......Which equals spam.:shadedshu

GJSNeptune
04-25-2008, 06:41 PM
Spam, yes, but no clear scam at work, and you can take the survey and not even worry about the Amazon gift.

btarunr
04-25-2008, 06:51 PM
Oh snap! I was about to inherit $ 25M from some dope in Nigeria....just that I was asked to send $1000 for 'processing' and I asked him to debit it from the '$25M' no reply then on. :rolleyes:

erocker
04-25-2008, 07:06 PM
Spammer has been dealt with.