• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X800 Pro VIVO mod 12P to 16P

NRP

Hello,
I recently purchased a Sapphire X800 Pro VIVO card. I just read W1zzard's article on modifying the card's BIOS to unlock the extra 4 pipes, and I have a couple of questions.

First, how can I tell if I have successfully unlocked all the pipes?

Second, if I install the X800 Pro VIVO 16P 256 MB BIOS (I don't want to overclock the card), I understand that WinXP will recognize the card as an X800 Pro. Do I have to do anything special so that the Catalyst drivers (or games I play) recognize that the card now has 16 pipes instead of 12 pipes?

I apologize if these are dumb questions, but I'm new to vidoecard mods. Thanks in advance for any guidance.

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Processor Ryzen 7 5700X
Memory 48 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 4080
Storage 2x HDD RAID 1, 3x M.2 NVMe
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
check with atitool ...

nothing special has to be done when using the 16p bios

NRP

W1zzard,
Someone on another forum (Beyond3D) told me that the the X800 Pro VIVO 16P 256 MB Bios doesn't work with Sapphire cards, and many people are having problems (blank screens after flashing, etc) with this particular Bios on Sapphire cards. Have you heard of this problem?

If this is true what Bios should I use? I understand that installing an XT Bios sets the core and memory clock speeds to 520/560. I have a couple of concerns about installing an XT Bios: Will the stock cooling handle these speeds, and does the card have enough voltage to handle the core/mem speed increases (I heard that one can increase the card's voltage (something about a "pencil mod"?), but I have no idea how to do it).

All I really want to do is enable the extra pipes.

Urlyin

I still do pencil mods
NRP